Lions Baseball picked to finish sixth in 2013 MIAA Preseason Coaches Poll

Kansas City, Mo. -- The Missouri Southern baseball team has been picked to finish sixth in the 2013 MIAA Preseason Coaches Poll, the league announced today. 

The Lions are coming off of a 32-19 season that saw the team go 23-17 in the MIAA and finish third in the final regular-season standings. The team returns 11 letterwinners and six starters including two players the team missed dearly last season in seniors Dallas Burke and Brett Abell. Both missed 2012 due to injuries, but were All-MIAA picks in 2011 and hope to return to that form this year.

Also returning are All-MIAA picks from last season in seniors Sam Ryan and Michael McCoy. Ryan should see time back at his familiar catcher spot, as well as some time at third base, while McCoy will make the move back to the infield from the outfield, a position he played at his junior college. 

Defending league champion Central Missouri was picked to repeat, while Missouri Western, Emporia State, Central Oklahoma and Fort Hays State round out the top five. Southern is at six, while Washburn, Lindenwood, Pittsburg State, Northwest Missouri, Northeastern State, Nebraska-Kearney, Southwest Baptist, Truman and Lincoln round out the poll.

The Lions open up the 2013 season on February 9th and 10th with a pair of double-headers against Montana State-Billings in the HHH Metrodome. 

2013 MIAA Baseball Preseason Coaches Poll

1. Central Missouri (14)                        196
2. Missouri Western (1)                        175
3. Emporia State                                  160
4. Central Oklahoma                            152
5. Fort Hays State                                136
6. Missouri Southern                         135
7. Washburn                                         118
8. Lindenwood                                      108
9. Pittsburg State                                    91
10. Northwest Missouri                           75
11. Northeastern State                            64
12. Nebraska-Kearney                            62
13. Southwest Baptist                             43
14. Truman                                             41
15. Lincoln                                              19