Soccer’s Wilhelm named third-team All-MIAA; Thomas & Laughlin named Honorable Mention

Kansas City, Mo. – Missouri Southern senior defender Dana Wilhelm was named third-team All-MIAA today, while sophomore forward Karley Thomas and senior forward Tiffany Laughlin were named All-MIAA honorable mention, as announced by the conference office.

A third-team selection at defender, Wilhelm tied with Laughlin for a team-high in goals with three on the year. Starting all 16 matches, Wilhelm only attempted 13 shots on the year, but had a .462 shot-on-goal percentage as six were on goal. The senior from St. Louis scored the game-winning goal against Northeastern State in a 2-0 win while notching the game-tying goal in the 88th minute in a 1-1 tie at home against Rogers State. Wilhelm also added a goal in the season opener against Southwestern Oklahoma State.

Playing in all 72 games over the past four years for Southern, Wilhelm only missed one start in her career while she scored eight goals and had two assists to finish with 18 points.  As a defender, she was a part of 16 shutouts while helping the Lions win 23 matches.

Southern also had a pair of forwards named All-MIAA honorable mention in Karley Thomas and Tiffany Laughlin. Leading the team in points with nine, Thomas had a pair of goals in the Lions' 2-1 win at #11 Central Missouri on October 10 that ended the Jennies' 48-match MIAA unbeaten streak. The sophomore from O'Fallon also led the team in assists with five as she got the assist on Wilhelm's goal against the RiverHawks while also notching one in a 1-1 tie at Fort Hays State. Starting all 16 matches at forward, Thomas finished second on the team in shots with 27 as 14 were on goal for a .519 shot-on-goal percentage.

Finally, Laughlin earned All-MIAA honorable mention honors for the second consecutive year after finishing the season tied for the team-lead in goals with three, while leading the team in shots with 39 and shots-on-goals with 19 for a .487 shot-on-goal percentage. Two of Laughlin's three goals turned out to be game-winning goals as she scored goals in wins over East Central and Missouri Western. She also scored the Lions' lone goal at Nebraska-Kearney. A transfer from Missouri State last year, Laughlin finishes her two-year career at Southern with four goals and seven assists for 15 points.

Offensive Player of the Year
Carly Stanley, Sr., MF, Central Missouri  

Defensive Player of the Year
Cindy Lackey, Sr., D, Central Missouri   

Goalkeeper of the Year
Jordan Woodruff, Fr., Northeastern State   

Freshman of the Year
Hannah Pyle, F, Central Missouri   

Coach of the Year
Lewis Theobald, Central Missouri   

1st Team
Goalkeeper – Jordan Woodruff, Fr., Northeastern State
Defender – Cindey Lackey, Sr., Central Missouri^
Defender – Jessy Phillps, Sr., Northeastern State
Defender – Kristin Bright, Sr., Central Missouri
Midfielder – Carley Stanley, Sr., Central Missouri
Midfielder – Elizabeth Cudjoe, Sr., Northeastern State
Midfielder – Renee' Valcarcel, Sr., Northeastern State
Forward – Becky Lackey, Sr., Central Missouri^|
Forward – Hannah Pyle, Fr., Central Missouri
Forward – Caysie Beetley, Sr., Washburn   
^ = Unanimous Selection

2nd Team
Goalkeeper – Yadira Rivera, Fr., Emporia State
Defender – Megan Buckley, Sr., Washburn
Defender – Taylor Buehne, Sr., Lindenwood
Defender – Emily Edlridge, Fr., Central Missouri
Defender – Jordan Hutchison, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Defender – Jaide Allenbrand, Fr., Emporia State 
Midfielder – Ashley Creason, Sr., Southwest Baptist
Midfielder – Nicole Pond, So., Central Missouri
Midfielder – Kate Jamison, So., Southwest Baptist
Forward – Jennifer Clark, Sr., Northeastern State
Forward – Kat Roe, Fr., Lindenwood
Forward – Julie Ireland, So., Central Missouri
Forward – Karla Jamison, So., Southwest Baptist
Five defenders and four forwards due to tie in the voting

3rd Team
Goalkeeper – Jessica Grindstaff, Sr., Central Missouri
Defender – Dani Harris, So., Fort Hays State
Defender – Sarah Talcott, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Defender – Dana Wilhelm, Sr., Missouri Southern
Defender – Camala James, Sr., Southwest Baptist
Midfielder – Hannah Carlson, Sr., Emporia State
Midfielder – Kate Combs, Fr., Washburn
Midfielder – Kirsten Crabtree, So., Lindenwood
Forward – Caitlin Bond, So., Central Oklahoma
Forward – Becka Talcott, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Forward – Elin Hammar, Fr., Southwest Baptist
Four defenders due to tie in the voting

Honorable Mention
Goalkeeper – Nicole Barnaba, Jr., Fort Hays State; Bailey Tracy, Sr., Lindenwood; Kelsey Adams, Sr., Northwest Missouri; Paige Hemphill, Sr., Southwest Baptist; Tori Fuglister, Jr., Washburn

Defender – Quinn Tookey, So., Central Oklahoma; Miranda Thorne, Jr., Central Oklahoma; Jackie Lidner, Fr., Lindenwood; Jordan Albright, Sr., Northwest Missouri; Taylor Mayhew, Sr., Washburn

Midfielder – Emily Precure, So., Central Oklahoma; McKenzie Koch, Fr., Emporia State; Amanda Talbott, Sr., Fort Hays State; Danielle Torry, So., Lindenwood; Breezy Janhnke, So., Nebraska-Kearney; Missy Everson, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney; Anna Calgaard, Sr., Northwest Missouri; Ali Skogrand, Jr., Southwest Baptist; Hailey Ruder, Fr., Washburn

Forward – Sarah Purcell, Jr., Central Oklahoma; Kaitlin Foran, Jr., Central Oklahoma; Tiffany Laughlin, Sr., Missouri Southern; Karley Thomas, So., Missouri Southern; Montanna Hosterman, So., Nebraska-Kearney